Jump to contentJump to search

Charting the Australian Fantastic

What is it?

“Charting the Australian Fantastic” is an online research and teaching project dedicated to analysing the wide range of Australian Speculative Fiction. This includes many popular genres such as fantasy, science fiction and many more.

Who are we?

We are Bettina Burger and Lucas Mattila, the two Digital Fellows of the HHU. Together with our student assistant Anika Klose and our close colleague from the University of Cologne, David Kern, we produce e-learning content as well as our own research into Australian Speculative Fiction.

Bettina Burger

Detailed Page

Lucas Mattila

What do we offer?

Aside from two courses, “Exploring Australian Speculative Fiction” (mostly online and asynchronous) and “Blogging Australian Speculative Fiction” (mostly in presence and synchronous), we maintain a blog where students and lecturers can post their findings on Australian Speculative. In addition, we produce a video series on Australian Speculative fiction, as well as a podcast and an interview series with Australian authors. In the winter term of 2021/2022, we are organising a lecture series with various Australian authors and scholars - the events will be advertised here and the videos will be made available as OER in due course.

What makes it possible?

We have been funded twice by the E-Learning Förderfonds (ELFF), which allowed us to hire our previous student assistants, Tiana Matanovich, Jill Bomanns, and David Mocken. In late 2020, we were granted the “Fellowship für Innovationen in der digitalen Hochschullehre“ for 2021, which allowed us to continue our work and improve the quality of our output considerably - as a result, we will be uploading most of our material to the new OER platform ORCA.nrw.

Responsible for the content:

Zum Inhalt springenZur Suche springen

Charting the Australian Fantastic

Worum geht's?

"Charting the Australian Fantastic" ist ein Online-Forschungs- und Lehrprojekt, das sich der Analyse des vielfältigen Angebots australischer Speculative Fiction widmet. Dazu gehören viele beliebte Genres wie z.B. Fantasy, Science Fiction und viele mehr.

Wer sind wir?

Wir sind Bettina Burger und Lucas Mattila, die beiden Digital Fellows der HHU. Gemeinsam mit unserer studentischen Hilfskraft Anika Klose und unserem engen Kollegen David Kern von der Universität Köln produzieren wir E-Learning-Inhalte sowie unsere eigenen Recherchen zur australischen Speculative Fiction.

Bettina Burger

Detailseite

Lucas Mattila

Was bieten wir an?

Neben zwei Kursen, "Exploring Australian Speculative Fiction" (größtenteils online und asynchron) und "Blogging Australian Speculative Fiction" (größtenteils in Präsenz und synchron), unterhalten wir einen Blog, in dem Studierende und Dozierende ihre Erkenntnisse über australische Spekulative veröffentlichen können. Darüber hinaus produzieren wir eine Videoreihe über australische Spekulative Fiction sowie einen Podcast und eine Interviewreihe mit australischen Autor:innen. Außerdem beabsichtigen wir, im Wintersemester 2021/22 Online-Gastdozierende einzuladen.

Was macht uns möglich?

Wir wurden zweimal vom E-Learning Förderfonds (ELFF) gefördert, was uns ermöglichte, unsere bisherigen studentischen Hilfskräfte Tiana Matanovich, Jill Bomanns und David Mocken einzustellen. Ende 2020 wurde uns das "Fellowship für Innovationen in der digitalen Hochschullehre" für 2021 bewilligt, was uns ermöglichte, unsere Arbeit fortzusetzen und die Qualität unseres Outputs erheblich zu verbessern - infolgedessen werden wir den Großteil unseres Materials auf die neue OER-Plattform hochladen.

Verantwortlichkeit: